Duet Staff

Directors

Elizabeth Banta, MC, Executive Director


Elizabeth Banta, MCElizabeth Banta serves as Executive Director of Duet and has held that position since 1995. She received a Master’s Degree in Counseling and Certificate in Gerontology from Arizona State University. Bachelor’s degrees were earned at St. Olaf College in Minnesota. Her current position brings full circle a journey that began in 1985, when she first served as a gerontology intern at Duet (formerly Beatitudes Center DOAR). Following her internship, she joined Duet’s staff and coordinated volunteer services for homebound adults. From 1988 through 1995 she worked in case management by assisting clients through the Senior Adult for Independent Living (SAIL) program and the Arizona Long Term Care System. During those years, she served Duet in a volunteer capacity and was honored to rejoin the staff in her current role. Providing compassionate help to older adults and family caregivers through community-based programs drives Elizabeth’s career vision.

Patricia Dominguez, MSW, Director of Kinship Services

dominguez@duetaz.org
Patricia Dominguez, MSWPatricia Dominguez is the Director of Kinship Care Services for Duet and is a leading expert in Arizona on issues surrounding grandparents raising grandchildren. She holds both Bachelors and Masters of Social Work degrees from Arizona State University. Patricia has been successfully working on issues affecting grandparents since 1998. Under her leadership, Duet has provided services to over 1000 kinship caregivers seeking assistance. Patricia is responsible for creating, developing, and implementing programs to support grandparents raising grandchildren and relative caregivers. She has successfully established and continues to maintain several kinship caregiver support groups throughout the Valley as well as special topic workshops. Additionally, she designed a unique respite care service to help grandparents cope with the daily responsibilities of raising grandchildren – essentially giving grandparents a much-needed “break” while also enriching children’s lives through educational activities and family outings. Patricia is passionate about her work and committed to successfully assisting and empowering grandparents in their new role.

Ann Wheat, Director of Caregiver Services


Ann Wheat serves as Director of Caregiver Services and has held this position since December 2014. Ann served as a member of our board from 1999 – 2005 and co-chaired Duet Cabaret (by its former name) together with Sherri Shea for several years. Her career spans public and nonprofit sectors, with a focus on improving the quality of life for our community’s underserved members including people with disabilities, vulnerable youth, childhood cancer patients and their families, refugees, and the LGBT community.  She retired several months ago from  the City of Phoenix where she most recently served as Acting Deputy Director.  Part of her work over the years included establishing adaptive recreation opportunities such as rafting trips in the Grand Canyon for people with disabilities.  As a volunteer she founded AZ Lost Boys Center, a nonprofit helping Phoenix’s  Sudanese refugee war orphans.   She received the Hon Kachina Volunteer Award in 2012, and the Martin Luther King Junior Living the Dream Award in 2002.

Sue Reckinger, CVA, Director of Volunteer Services

reckinger@duetaz.org
/Sue Reckinger serves as Director of Volunteer Services for Duet and has held this position since September of 2007. She has worked in the field of volunteerism since 1991. Previously, Sue worked at the Area Agency on Aging, Region One as the Volunteer Specialist within the Maricopa Retired and Senior Volunteer Program (RSVP). Prior to the Area Agency, Sue served as the Transportation Coordinator and Coordinator of Services at Duet (formerly Beatitudes Center DOAR’s VICaP Program). Sue received her CVA (Certification of Volunteer Management) from the Council for Certification in Volunteer Administration in October of 2007. In April of 2009, she was awarded the Lucia Causey Award from AVACA (Association of Volunteer Administration of Central Arizona for Excellence in Volunteer Management).

Nichole Barnes, Director of Communications

barnes@duetaz.org

Julie Blake, Director of Operations

blake@duetaz.org

Gordon Sims, Director of Development

sims@duetaz.org

April Polley, BSN, RN, MBA, Director of Congregational Health Services

polley@duetaz.org

Staff

Lori Appleby Hoke, Outreach Coordinator

applebyhoke@duetaz.org

Elaine Dinse, Administrative Assistant

dinse@duetaz.org

Shelly Everson, Public Relations Coordinator

everson@duetaz.org

Carol Houselog, Executive Secretary

houselog@duetaz.org

Linda Lato, Service Specialist

lato@duetaz.org

Mary Lou Moore, Service Project Manager

moore@duetaz.org

Ricardo Samano, Service Coordinator

samano@duetaz.org

Daniela Saylor, Caregiver Services Project Manager

saylor@duetaz.org

Virginia Torres, Receptionist

torres@duetaz.org

Beth Tucker, Service Coordinator

tucker@duetaz.org

Terri Wagner, Coordinator of Services

wagner@duetaz.org

Gail M. Weide, Development Coordinator

weide@duetaz.org